Body Image- A Poem

 

 

Who was the person that woke up one day and said ‘only certain body types are acceptable?’

I didn’t get a say.

I’ve just been conditioned to look down at myself and see bumps and lumps which aren’t allowed-

Which aren’t okay-

Which I’m not free to love or feel comfortable with.

From a very young age, I’ve understood the rules-

Here’s the basic checklist for the perfect female body:

Gorgeous curves

Flat stomach

Hourglass

Legs up to your waist

Fit

Flat

Flawless

And if you’re not naturally this way then

Dress your body to manipulate it into looking perfect

Synch in that waist

Pad out the rest.

Let clothing flow over the stomach

Contour your chest

When it comes to photos

Breathe in until your stomach is flat and your face is blue

And if all else fails

Edit Edit Edit

And always deny

It’s almost been imbedded in me that I should feel insecure

‘So many people have body issues.’

But why should we?

It doesn’t matter what number’s on the scales, what numbers sewn into your clothes,

We have the right to love our bodies regardless.

How much of our body insecurities are down to our thoughts of how we should look instead of societies standards?

The line is clearly blurred.

I spend my life comparing my body to those around me, strangers in the street, and women on the cover of magazines.

And I find myself feeling inadequate to them.

I don’t have their body

But do you know why that is?

Because I’m me.

I have my body.

And no one has the right to tell me that’s not good enough.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

